Review of Adelleda’s ‘Let’s Talk About Adelleda.’

Let’s be honest. Most of us have things that happen on our birthday that we would rather ignore or forget. (There’s a lot associated with September 25th that doesn’t hold the best memories for me or others, including an 8.0 earthquake that hit Japan nine years ago on the date.)

But this year, one of my favorite bands released a 4 track album on the 25th.

Adelleda, Hamilton and Stoney Creek’s Skate Punk sons, gave everyone ‘Let’s Talk About Adelleda.’ It is an E.P that better captures what an enjoyable, loud chaos their live show is, despite not being a live record. It also covers a lot of ground in it’s lyrical content, as you’ll read.

1: Just A Shame.

Originally appearing on Herkimer Street, this track has had a complete re-do. But in a way that compliments and enhances it, not so that it’s unrecognizable. The drums hit harder. The dual guitars do battle and compliment at the same time. The bass keeps a fine anchor. And the vocals are clearer and more furious.

Going by the lyrics, I’ve always thought of this as a love song; (‘We can never be in love), but there is more going on than your average Punk song.  (‘Watch you slip away’ ‘A mess of tubes’ and ‘Can’t you see/ You are slowly dying?’ make the case to me.)

2: Don’t Worry I’m Drunk.

This is song was made into Adelleda’s first professionally directed music video, (view here on Youtube http://youtu.be/JsHqcwUKJng), and the band couldn’t have written a more timely song.

The lyrics concern drunken encounters and the children that come of them.

On the instrument side of things, it’s like one of the band saw a Hamilton mosh pit and put a tune to it. The music is aggressive, and doesn’t let up.

3: 5 Months In England.

Going a little easier on the listener’s ears, this track tells the story of a couples break-up after one of them spends 5 months in England. (That was what I got from the lyrics, at any rate.)

The instruments vary on this song.  They are the slowest of any track on the E.P, but the speed up and go to their original state nicely.

It’s a great rest point on the album before it gets out one more blast of fury and finishes.

4: Champion.

Fact People Probably Already Know Me: I’m Hamilton proud. I love living in this city, and I will never live anywhere else.

Fact People Probably Don’t Know About Me: I practice Krav Maga. I decided to learn after a startling event at a show, and like most things I do, I listen to music while practicing.

Just Plain Fact: This song is a ferocious, pounding sonic ode to Hamilton with pride and thrash vocals in all the right places. I find it the perfect track to practice to, to write to, etc. But it also encapsulates my feelings for my home city perfectly.

Call it ego, call it silliness. Call it whatever the hell you want, but this track is my new personal anthem.

Leave a Reply

