Review Of Gatling’s Alex Sallas And His Solo Show At Absinthe.

What do you do when you have three band mates, but they can’t play a show that you’re due to play?

What do you do when you’re scheduled to do an interview for your zine, but a key member of the team is off for Fathers Day?

The solution to both problems is you do the best you can.

I shot plenty of photos. I listened and evaluated in my own way so I could review the show. I did the interview for Thunder with voice recorder in tow. (And, Lord help me, I tried my hand at grabbing some footage. My partner who’s far better at video will have to examine it and see what can be used.)

Alex Sallas had even tougher challenge. Usually the drummer for Gatling, he found himself without three band mates and a show to play this past Sunday.

But music prevailed. First Alex got behind his kit and kicked out some impressive sounds that ranged from the great but simple; to infinitely more complex. (With the aid of three others holding up more cymbals and drums, Alex worked with an even bigger kit.)

Next he worked marvelously with his guitar while another person was behind the kit.

This was probably the most interesting part of the evening for me, as I have never seen Alex play guitar live. But  I have to say I was impressed. The playing was in the vein of Hard Rock and Metal, and I enjoyed it a lot.

The final part of the set came when Web Society’s guitarist Brandon Kummer and bassist Jeffrey Mills, plus some others, joined Alex and they played a tried and true Web Society number.

All in all, fantastic for a man without a band. (For a day.)

10 out of 10.

 

Leave a Reply

