Review Of A Gothic and Industrial Night 3.

I have a list. Some might say it’s a list of things I want to do before I die, but I prefer to think of it as a list of goals. (Either way, everyone probably thinks a cliché. But it doesn’t matter.)

Two of my goals were as follows:

‘See a Goth band live.’

‘See an Industrial band live.’

I’ve been a massive fan of both genres for years. But all I had ever done was listen to the CDs.

On Friday night, I got the chance to tick both items off my list.  I was invited to photograph Nanochrist and Greycell at the Door’s Pub.

This show was part of a series that has been taking place for a while. It’s aim is to showcase Industrial and Goth bands in Hamilton, and I for one hope it continues.

1st Band: Greycell.

This Toronto band reminded me of old Industrial in the vein of Nine Inch Nails, Ministry, and the like. There was plenty of hard, loud guitar and a bass that perfectly complimented it. But there was also a drum machine, and other electronic touches that captured the genre like a portrait. A final touch I appreciated was the band giving out a 3 song E.P. It’s just the way to ensure a new fan like myself.

10 out of 10.

2nd Band: Nanochrist.

Now, I want there to be no confusion. Nanochrist list themselves as an Industrial Metal band. BUT, because of their aesthetic and some musical touches, I myself consider PART of their sound to be Goth.

Nanochrist are one of THOSE bands to me. I just had to see them, as well as hear them. (It’s not often I see people decked out in full Goth gear, so they’ll forgive my gawking.) The sound was just as intoxicating, drawing me in with instrumentation that alternated between more melodic moments and harsher elements. (Louder drum beats, more grit in the vocals.)  It was certainly something I had to see to believe, and I’m glad I didn’t miss it.

10 out of 10.

 

6 thoughts on “Review Of A Gothic and Industrial Night 3.

    • I would say the bass jumped out at perfect times. (I forgot to put this in the review as I had a migraine.)
      One of the things I appreciated about the bass player was he seemed to have these moments where he would take a note and give it this subtle twist to make it sound even better.

  1. Hello again. We just wanted to let you know that we’ll be at Doors Pub again on Saturday, Sept 15th. This time with The Rabid Whole. We hope you can make it.

Leave a Reply

