Review Of The March 25th Sunday Slamfest.

Note: I know this is coming late. But given how bad my migraine was these past 5 days, better later than never.

Motion was one word that stuck in my mind this past Sunday. I was shooting photos and conducting an interview for a zine with my friend. There were five bands, instead of the usual four that play a Slamfest. There was a small, but solid, mosh pit going at points. And the crowd was as it usually is, receptive and eager to see the show.

1st band: Web Society.

Continuing their streak of impression evolution, Stoney Creek’s Web Society put on a must-see show that brought Teenage Head to my mind. Not only did they display their own songs in an impressive light, but they did an impeccable cover of Screeching Weasel’s ‘The Girl Next Door.’ As bonuses, they debuted a new song, had an audience member up to assist on vocals, and drummer Stephen Petrina gave some rousing spoken word that sticks out in an entirely good way.

10 out of 10.

2nd band: The Jiggawatts.

The first of two bands to drop in Sunday from London Ontario, the Jiggawatts are a very unique band. I say this because they have Hard-Core, almost Metal, instrumentation and raspy vocals. But they also manage to maintain amazing melody in their songs.  I wasn’t present for all of their set, as I was interviewing Web Society for the zine. But they gave a fantastic set, as they did the last time I saw them.

9 out of 10.

3rd band: Nothing Helper.

It wasn’t that long ago that I saw a Nothing Helper set, and my opinion hasn’t changed about them. They remain a personal favorite. And a cool, wacky 4-piece from Brantford who bring alot of fun to any set they play. (Which they did again on Sunday. ) They played their breezy brand of Punk, and I’m sure I’m not the only who got a chuckle out of their smart-ass songs and kooky antics.

10 out of 10.

4th band: 413’s.

The only Hamilton band on the bill for Sunday was 413’s. And I was psyched. This quintet has a sound that blends Punk Rock with 50’s Rockabilly, and it couldn’t get better. It’s always great to see older songs getting a new take/ life, and to see people stepping outside the genre.  The set had a few cute moments, as the daughter of the lead singer came onstage to help sing ‘Happy Birthday’ to some guests of the band members.

10 out of 10.

5th band: Johnny Terrien and the Bad Lieutenants.

Simple is not always a bad thing. For instance, the case of Johnny Terrien and the Bad Lieutenants. They were the second London band of the afternoon, and played very simple Punk Rock that reminded me of the Ramones. They were all very astute on their chosen instrument, including voice, and I hope they come calling on Hamilton’s Punk scene again. Especially at This Ain’t Hollywood.

9 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

