Why The Name Made Of Steeltown?

I know nobody asked, but I’m dying to tell the story of the name of this blog. And the name under which Thunder is published on paper.

When people are told they are tough, they are often told they are ‘Made of steel.’.

But being from Hamilton, and a person who tries to absorbs alot, I like to think I am ‘Made Of Steeltown.’

Obviously, anybody is half of their biological mother’s DNA, half their biological father’s.

But I think I’m composed of that and more.

I consider so many little parts of Hamilton to be a part of me. St Joseph’s Hospital, because I was born there. Gage Park. Our libraries. Defasco and Stelco. Ottawa Street. Homegrown Hamilton. This Ain’t Hollywood. King Street. The Casbah. Hammer City Records. James Street. Crash Landing. Dr Disc. Books And Beats. Our wonderful music, from every genre.

And the people. I can’t say enough about how great they are.

Everything above has helped me become who I am in one way or another. And I hope to reflect that in both life and writing.

Leave a Reply

